1. MEMBERSHIP FEE: $35 per couple. A couple must consist of one male and one female who fish together as a member of the same team from the same boat. Membership is open at any time during the tournament year and if joining after the conclusion of the first tournament in a region, payment will be membership dues ($35) plus the next two consecutive tournaments entry fees ($200). No more than two qualifying events may be fished entered by only one member of the same team. A substitute may fish as a replacement partner in those tournaments. The first tournament of the year must be fished by both members if new to the Texas Bass Couples organization. Prior members may fish the first tournament with only one member present.
2. ENTRY FEE: Each couple is required to pay an entry fee of $100 before fishing in a tournament. $15 of each entry goes toward the Championship and $10 goes towards Men’s Big Bass and Ladies Big Bass. (Ladies Big Bass must be tagged when brought to the scales).
3. TACKLE: Only artificial lures may be used, the only exception is pork rinds. Only one rod may be used at one time, though others may be rigged and ready in the boat, but each cast must be completed before using a different rod.
4. FISH LENGTH/LIMITS: Each couple may weigh in five fish per day. Minimum length is 14 inches (unless the lake length varies from the state wide length), measured on a flat board, mouth closed, tail compressed. Only largemouth, smallmouth and spotted bass will be weighed and .50 pound penalty for each dead fish. No more than five fish can be bought to the scales. A sixth fish may be held in the live-well temporarily for culling purposes only. There will be a (1) pound penalty for each short fish and the short fish will not be weighed. All state laws will apply.
5. CHAMPIONSHIP TOURNAMENT: Teams qualifying for the Texas Bass Couples Championship must have a minimum of 250 points or compete in 4 of 6 tournaments in each region. Points only apply if fishing all tournaments in one region. 1st=100 pts, 2nd=99 pts, 3rd-98 pts, etc. 25 points will be awarded if no fish are caught. NOTE: You may qualify for the Championship by fishing a total of 4 tournaments throughout the year. This can be done by fishing 1 tournament in 4 different regions, 2 tournaments in 2 regions etc., but points will not transfer from region to region. Entry fee for the Championship Tournament will be $150.
6. PROTESTS: Any contestant wishing to file a protest of another contestant must do so in writing within (5) minutes after the official weigh-in has concluded. Names and boat registration information must be included.
7. SPORTSMANSHIP: All contestants are required to follow high standards of sportsmanship, courtesy and conservation and to conduct themselves in a manner that will be a credit to themselves, Texas Bass Couples and the sport of fishing. If a contestant does not comply with the standards set forth, Texas Bass Couples and its DIRECTORS shall have the right to refuse any and all APPLICATIONS FOR MEMBERSHIP TO TEXAS BASS COUPLES. Multiple tournament fees may be charged to secure the intentions of the contestants.
8. RULE DECISION: The determination and interpretation of the rules shall be at the discretion of the DIRECTORS or OFFICIALS and shall be final. Texas Bass Couples rules and regulations are subject to change at any time by the DIRECTORS or OFFICIALS; however any change will be posted at registration.
9. BOATS/MOTORS/SAFETY: No trolling with the big motor. Each contestant is required to have on a zippered or fastened Coast Guard approved life preserver any time the boat is on plane.
10. ALCOHOL/DRUGS: Contestants will abstain from consuming alcoholic beverages until after tournament hours and polygraph tests are finished.
11. PRE-TOURNAMENT PRACTICE: No OFF LIMITS prior to tournament events.
12. PERMITTED FISHING WATERS: No tube or wade fishing. No fishing within 25 yards of competitor’s boat or 50 yards of a boat that is anchored or tied without the permission of the occupants.
13. LATE PENALTY: Contestants who are not at the official check-in point as directed by the DIRECTOR will be disqualified from the day’s tournament.
14. GUIDE RULE: Full time professional Bass Guides that have guided in the last 12 months may not fish the Texas Bass Couples Tournament Trail.
***Pays 1 in 5 Entries***
***Anglers of the Year fish FREE the next year***